skip to content

Safety Office


Safety Office (map)


The Director

Dr Martin Vinnell

Director of Health, Safety & Regulated Services


Dr Anne-Marie Farmer

Director of Safety Governance & Assurance



Radiation Services

Ms Lisabeth Yates

Head of Radiation Protection


Dr Simon Hoer

Assistant Radiation Protection Officer


Mr Tim McNulty

Scientific Support Assistant


Mr Brian Sullivan

Quality Assurance Technician


General radiation protection enquiries:
Lisabeth Yates and Simon Hoer are appointed as Radiation Protection Advisers to the University.
Lisabeth Yates is also the appointed Radioactive Waste Adviser and Laser Protection Adviser.

Accidents / Incident Reporting

Ms Cornelia Gewert

Safety Adviser, Accident Incident Manager


General accident/incident enquires.

Biological Section


Head of Biological Safety and Compliance


General Biological safety/compliance enquiries.


Chemical Safety

advice available from
Dr Margaret Glendenning

Head of Safety Assurance


Ms Anya Howe

Chemical Safety Adviser


General chemical safety enquiries.

Physical Safety

Mrs Andrea Eccles

Head of Physical Safety


Safety Auditing

Mr Rory Feilen

Safety Adviser


Travel Safety

Study Away Risk Assessment Committee (SARAC)


Travel Risk Assessment enquiries


Technical Services

Mr Roger Badcock

Chief Technician


Mr Jason Mann

Environmental Monitoring Technician


Mr Neil Stanford

Health & Safety Assistant


Face fit testing enquiries



Mrs Sarah Boggie

Administrator/PA to Director of HS&RS


Miss Lois Durrant

Senior Secretary - Training and Finance


Mrs Emma Clarke

Secretary to the Radiations Section


Mrs Diane Grover

Secretary to the Accident/Incident and Biological Section


Ms Jane Oliver

Secretary to the Physico-Chemical Section


Communicable Diseases

Helpdesk Contact details

Telephone: 01223 339514


If you are contacting us outside of our service hours (09:00 – 17:00, Monday - Friday) about an urgent communicable disease outbreak, please telephone: 07702 970136 or 07542307587